in the beginning

I dream about people with the heads of crocodiles, he said. They’re everywhere, and they’re doing normal things like shopping or eating. Minding their own business. They’re not chasing after me but sometimes I see one look at me, and I start running. Man, every time I see them, I start  running. It’s freaky. They don’t even chase after me most of the time, but I’m still scared. I have this dream all the time and I don’t know what it means. I wake up and my heart’s racing and I’m sweating and sometimes I think I see scales glittering in the dark.

(I could’ve told him that in the beginning, one legend says that god created the heavens and the earth, pressed the mountains into place and spit seas into hollows. I could’ve told him that god made the flying things and the swimming things and things that crawled upon the earth and god walked the earth to see that it was good and god saw the crocodile, more truthfully the caiman, and the caiman grinned so sweetly and greeted god with such politeness that god sought to reward the caiman. In time, the caiman’s belly swelled and stirred until one day, the creature gave birth to man. Following man, a race tumbled out, neither one nor the other but something part caiman and part man with a scale-covered head and long, smooth limbs. )

I don’t know what this means.

4 responses

  1. Simply a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great style and design .

    December 28, 2011 at 12:43 am

  2. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this site and give it a look regularly.

    December 29, 2011 at 10:55 pm

  3. I am glad that you stopped by! Thanks! 🙂

    December 30, 2011 at 6:57 am

Leave a Reply

