Making it

 

Let’s have Christmas resolutions. Let’s resolve not to buy this Christmas. Make meals, give away pieces of art, give away scarves and mittens and cups of hot chocolate. Let’s open our homes for a Scrabble night and forget how we meant to spend the afternoon in bed playing Words with Friends. Stake out spots on the square to ring cowbells at tourists. Forget that shoppers are spraying each other with pepper spray, warring over a game system. The best gift I’ve ever received was five days of plastic and aluminum and food to fill my freezer and I can’t eat broccoli casserole anymore but it was better than pop tarts. And beans. And the rest of the back of the cabinet up to and including the olives. (Is my lipstick too bright for this picture?)

Where were we? Oh, Christmas. Yeah. Make it mean something.

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have learn this publish and if I may I wish to suggest you some interesting issues or advice. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article. I wish to learn more things about it!

    January 7, 2012 at 7:43 am

    • I’ll see what I can do. 🙂 You should also check out Diaspora– there’s a host of helpful people there.

      January 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Leave a Reply

