overheard in the city

“Get the fuck out of here! Get THE FUCK out of here! Dallas killed Kennedy! Get the fuck out of here! We’re escaping this shit!”

“My friends all think I’m on suicide watch but really I just go downstairs and throw my phone at the dumpster.”

“we the unwilling”

“hindu ghouls”

“it’s over”

“I went to my friend’s house and he had this gigantic flat screen tv and this stereo system and all this STUFF, you know? And I was thinking about how much stuff we own and how it traps us in these lives that are built around the accumulation of all this stuff and I thought about what it would be like to Throw It Away. To just live simply and it all just seems so…freeing. All these things we don’t need that we feel we have to live with to be happy.”

“This bookstore is like a sanctuary, something to do in a town full of nothing to do. This is a safe place. Sometimes I think of how I left this town and how I came back and I wonder if I shouldn’t have left. But I’m back.”

“Do you have money to live? Do you have a place to stay right now?”

“I’m so glad I saw you. I knew that you were the only one who’d really understand what I’m saying.”

“I know. I love you.”

7 responses

  1. Interesting. Are these real?

    June 11, 2012 at 1:00 am

  2. PK

    Brilliant, and great image as well

    June 11, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    • Thank you! It was a mixed feelings kind of day, wandering through Deep Ellum. Pretty severe class lines drawn there.

      June 12, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      • PK

        I’ve never been to that neighborhood, is it worth checking out?

        June 13, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      • It really is, especially in comparison to the overly gentrified West End or the “Arts District.” There’s something real and dingy about most bits of it and of course there’s Trees, a concert venue at which I recently saw St. Vitus play. I’ve established a new rule for myself– find the ugly bits of a city and wander. 🙂

        June 14, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      • PK

        Good call! I’ll have to check it out next time I’m in the Big D

        June 14, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

